cairominerals

cairominerals

cairominerals

cairominerals

cairominerals

رمال سيليكا من مصر

شركة القاهرة للمعادن شركة سجلة بوزارة التجارة والصناعة منذ 2004 شركة القاهرة للمعادن هي شركة رائدة ومنتجة عالمية ومصدرة من الرمل السيليكا عالية الجودة منذ عام 2004. ويتم تصدير منتجاتنا من الرمال السيليكا إلى قبرص واليونان وإسبانيا والهند والعربية المتحدة الإمارات، الكويت، مالطا، تركيا، قطر، السنغال، الجزائر، ليبيا اليابان وسوريا ولبنان وجورجيا وكرواتيا والفلبين والعراق، سلطنة عمان.


المحاجر

المحاجر

 

ولكي نقدر قيمة عمليات المحجر والتعدين في مصر، يجب أن نفهم أنه بدونها لن تكون هناك أهرامات كبيرة ولن تكون هناك معابد كبيرة. في الواقع، سيكون هناك أيضا القليل من المجوهرات المجيدة، التماثيل الرائعة، أو الأثاث المذهبة من مصر القديمة. إلى حد كبير جدا، ما نعرفه عن  مصر القديمة بنيت من عمليات المحجر والتعدين. واليوم،و الان ليس من الصعب ان يقوم السياح بزيارتها والعمل على المحاجر التى كانت منذ آلاف السنين الماضية.

كان المصريون القدماء، الذين يعودون إلى ما قبل التاريخ، لديهم شهية كبيرة للمواد المختلفة، وخاصة الحجر الجيري، الذي كان يستخدم بكميات ضخمة. ومع ذلك، فإنها بالتأكيد استقطبت الجرانيت الأحمر والرمادي والأسود من أسوان، المرمر، الديوريت، الرخام، اعوج، بيرفيري الأرجواني، لائحة سوداء من وادي راحانو، البازلت والدولوميت. كما تم استخراجها للمعادن، مثل النحاس والذهب، على الرغم من أن الفضة كانت تستورد عادة، ولم يتم استغلال رواسب الحديد على الأرجح حتى فترة متأخرة. كما كان هناك تعدين للأحجار الكريمة مثل الزمرد والمالكيت (السهمي والفيروزي والمفاكيت والعقيق والأحجار الكريمة والأحجار الكريمة الأخرى، وشملت التعدين للمعادن الملح (كلوريد الصوديوم) ونترون، وهو نوع من ملح الطهي العادي، كما أن أحد أهم المحاجر التي تم إغفالها كان مجرد طين النيل المستخدم في صناعة الفخار ولصنع الطوب المستخدم في معظم تطبيقات البناء الشائعة.

وكان الحجر الذي يشكل وادي النيل قد استخرج من قبل أولئك الذين يعيشون في مصر على الأقل قبل 40 ألف سنة، عندما كان سكان العصر الأوسط العصر الحجري القديم الأوسط في مصر يستغلون الحجارة ويعملون على الحجارة الكلسية على جانبي النيل. تتكون هذه المحاجر الأولى من محاجر الشجر الحجري القديم من حفر وخنادق لاستخلاص السطح، ولكن توجد محاجر حجري قديم في نازليت خاطر 4 على الضفة الغربية لنهر النيل في منتصف الطريق بين أسيوط وسوهاج، وتشمل مهاوي عمودية ومعارض تحت الأرض، حقيقة تنذر أساليب المحاجر خلال الفترة الفرعونية. عندما تم حفر موقع نازلة خاطر 4 هناك، تم اكتشاف عدد من الأدوات. وشملت هذه هامرستونيس المستخدمة في أقسى مراحل المحاجر وكذلك العديد من اللقطات المستخدمة للعمل أدق. وقد نحتت اللقطات من قرون الغزلان وهارتيبيست.

كما استغل المصريون ما قبل التاريخ المعادن في المنحدرات والصحاري على جانبي وادي النيل، وفي سيناء. في الواقع، يعتقد علماء الآثار أن أقرب المستوطنين المعروفين في سيناء، الذين وصلوا قبل حوالي 8000 سنة، كانوا عمال المناجم، التي رسمتها المناطق النحاس والفيروزي ديبواستس. بعض من أقدم العناصر المعروفة من المجوهرات، تعود إلى فترة ما قبل التاريخ، مصنوعة من العقيق الصحراء الشرقية وسارد. كما يعرف الخبث النحاسي أيضا بالقرب من المناجم قبل الأوان في بئر نصيب في جنوب سيناء، وربما استغل عمال المناجم الفيروزية منطقة سيرابيت الخاديم القريبة في العصر النحاسي.

بطبيعة الحال، كانت هذه العمليات ما قبل التاريخ صغيرة نسبيا بالمقارنة مع البعثات الملكية الضخمة التي أرسلت إلى سيناء والنوبة خلال أول سلالتين، وصغيرة تماما مقارنة مع البعثات في وقت لاحق التي قد تشمل ما يقرب من عشرين ألف رجل. بعض المحاجر الحجرية البارزة خلال الفترة الفرعونية تشمل جبل السيلسة للحجر الرملي، التورة والمعصرة للحجر الجيري الأبيض الناعم، كوا الكبير للحجر الجيري الصلب جدا، جبل العصر للديوريت، حتنوب ووادي الغراوي (بالقرب من حلوان) للمرمر المصري (الكالسيت)، جيبل القطراني للبازلت، أنواع مختلفة من الجرانيت من وادي الحمامات، والعديد من المحاجر حول أسوان للجرانيت الوردي. في الواقع، كانت هناك عمليات محجر واسعة جدا في أسوان وحولها، والتي أصبحت أكثر وضوحا في وقت لاحق. خلال الفترة الرومانية، استمرت المحاجر هناك بلا هوادة، والأعمدة المنحوتة من الجرانيت أسوان توجد في كمية حول شواطئ البحر الأبيض المتوسط. في الواقع، على الصخور الزخرفية “الثلاثة الكبار” في العالم الروماني، على قدم المساواة مع غرانيتو فيوليتو من ترواد و سيبويلينو من اليونان.

تم استخراج المعادن المختلفة في مصر، ولعل أبرزها الذهب والنحاس والحديد لاحقا. كان هناك العديد من مناجم الذهب حول مصر وفي النوبة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن وادي الحمامات وبير أم فواخر (الواقع في وادي الحمامات، الذي كان لا يزال قيد الاستخدام في نهاية القرن العشرين)، مع وادي سيد ووادي عبد ووادي الهودي ووادي العاقي وبوهين سيما، ووادي العلققي، وحوالي 20 كيلومترا غرب مونس كالوديانو، أبو زوال. وتشمل المناجم النحاسية تلك الموجودة في تمنا وسرابيت الخادم في سيناء وفي الصحراء الشرقية ووادي عربة ووادي سترة ومنطقة حمش وفي بوهن ووادي دارا. وكانت هناك مناجم حديدية في وادي ديب ووادي الحمامات وفي مواقع قريبة من أسوان.

 

بطبيعة الحال، كانت هذه العمليات ما قبل التاريخ صغيرة نسبيا بالمقارنة مع البعثات الملكية الضخمة التي أرسلت إلى سيناء والنوبة خلال أول سلالتين، وصغيرة تماما مقارنة مع البعثات في وقت لاحق التي قد تشمل ما يقرب من عشرين ألف رجل. بعض المحاجر الحجرية البارزة خلال الفترة الفرعونية تشمل جبل السيلسة للحجر الرملي، التورة والمعصرة للحجر الجيري الأبيض الناعم، كوا الكبير للحجر الجيري الصلب جدا، جبل العصر للديوريت، حتنوب ووادي الغراوي (بالقرب من حلوان) للمرمر المصري (الكالسيت)، جيبل القطراني للبازلت، أنواع مختلفة من الجرانيت من وادي الحمامات، والعديد من المحاجر حول أسوان للجرانيت الوردي. في الواقع، كانت هناك عمليات محجر واسعة جدا في أسوان وحولها، والتي أصبحت أكثر وضوحا في وقت لاحق. خلال الفترة الرومانية، استمرت المحاجر هناك بلا هوادة، والأعمدة المنحوتة من الجرانيت أسوان توجد في كمية حول شواطئ البحر الأبيض المتوسط. في الواقع، على الصخور الزخرفية “الثلاثة الكبار” في العالم الروماني، على قدم المساواة مع غرانيتو فيوليتو من ترواد و سيبويلينو من اليونان.

تم استخراج المعادن المختلفة في مصر، ولعل أبرزها الذهب والنحاس والحديد لاحقا. كان هناك العديد من مناجم الذهب حول مصر وفي النوبة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن وادي الحمامات وبير أم فواخر (الواقع في وادي الحمامات، الذي كان لا يزال قيد الاستخدام في نهاية القرن العشرين)، مع وادي سيد ووادي عبد ووادي الهودي ووادي العاقي وبوهين سيما، ووادي العلققي، وحوالي 20 كيلومترا غرب مونس كالوديانو، أبو زوال. وتشمل المناجم النحاسية تلك الموجودة في تمنا وسرابيت الخادم في سيناء وفي الصحراء الشرقية ووادي عربة ووادي سترة ومنطقة حمش وفي بوهن ووادي دارا. وكانت هناك مناجم حديدية في وادي ديب ووادي الحمامات وفي مواقع قريبة من أسوان.

وبطبيعة الحال، قام المصريون أيضا بإزالة الأحجار الكريمة المختلفة، مثل الجمشت في وادي الهودي وجبل العصر، والفيروز في وادي مغارة وسرابيت الخادم. مصر حيث يقع أول منجم الزمرد في العالم، في وادي وادي وادي سيكيت في الصحراء الشرقية. تم استخراجها في وقت مبكر من الفترة البطلمية. الرومان في وقت لاحق أشار إلى الزمرد كما سماراجدوس، واسمه منطقة سيكيت مونس سماراجدوس، أو إميرالد الجبل. موقع آخر هو وادي جمال، بالقرب من مرسى علم، والذي حصل على اسم منجم الزمرد كليوباترا.

وشملت عمليات التعدين أو المحاجر الأخرى بالنسبة للكوارتز وجبل العصر وجبل دخان وجبل فطيرة (التي أصبحت الثانية منها مونس بورفيريتس ومونس كلوديانوس في الآونة الأخيرة، وجبل العصر للغنيس والشب من الداخلة وخارجا واحة الصحراء الغربية، لائحة من وادي الحمامات، وقائمة سوداء من وادي راحانو، ومن الواضح أن المعادن مثل ناترون كانت تستخرج من وادي النطرون، في حين تم استخراج الملغومة في غالبيت الزيت وجبل راساس، واستخرج المرقوق في جبل دخان وجبل فطيرة (مونس بورفيريتس ومونس كلوديانوس)، فضلا عن الألغام الأخرى القريبة.

هذه ليست سوى قائمة جزئية من مواقع المحاجر والتعدين في مصر، وحتى المواد التي تم استخراجها. على سبيل المثال، قام المصريون باستخراج عدد من الأحجار شبه الكريمة الأخرى مثل اللازورد و العقيق و الجاسبر المصري.

علم الآثار من المحاجر والمناجم

بعض النقوش والكتابة على الجدران المرتبطة بمواقع التعدين والتجهيز هذه توفر معلومات عن تواريخ البعثات، وقوائم بأنواع مختلفة من العمال، وفي حالات نادرة، حتى روايات مفصلة عن رحلات محددة. وقد نجت المعلومات الأثرية والنصوص كبيرة فيما يتعلق بعثات التعدين في السعي لبناء الحجر والنحاس والذهب والفيروز والمالخيت ومجموعة متنوعة من الأحجار الكريمة الأخرى.

ومن الواضح أنه خلال الفترة الفرعونية، كان للمحاجر والتعدين أهمية قصوى لازدهار واستقرار الاقتصاد المصري، على الرغم من أنها جذبت اهتماما ضئيلا قبل الثمانينيات من علماء الآثار. ومنذ ذلك الحين، بدأ عدد من علماء الآثار بدراستها، مع نهج تتراوح بين الإثبات العلمي من الحجارة والمعادن للتكرار التجريبي للتكنولوجيا المستخدمة في استخراج والعمل مع مختلف المواد.

إن محاجر الجرانيت في أسوان، التي استغلت لأول مرة على الأقل في بداية العصر الفرعوني، لا تزال قيد الاستخدام اليوم. ولذلك فإن قدرا كبيرا من الأدلة المتعلقة بالاستخراج القديم وعمل هذا الحجر الصلب للغاية مستمد من بقايا أثرية واسعة إلى الجنوب الشرقي من المدينة الحديثة. وتشير التقديرات إلى أنه بناء على المباني الباقية وغيرها من المعالم الأثرية، تم خلال تلك الفترة إزالة حوالي 45،000 متر مكعب من الحجر من هذه المحاجر. وكان معظم ذلك قد تألف إلى حد كبير من صعود الصخور فضفاضة المنتشرة عبر سطحه، ولكن من قبل المملكة الجديدة، ويجري استخراج أكبر كميات من الجرانيت.

 

 

وتظهر مواقع المحاجر والتعدين المختلفة التي يرجع تاريخها إلى فترات مختلفة وفي مواقع جغرافية مختلفة مهارات المصريين القدماء للتكيف في مسابقات وظروف مختلفة. وكانت هناك مرونة كبيرة في مشترياتها من الحجر والمعادن. وكانت بعض مستوطنات العمال القديمة مدن أو قرى كبيرة، مثل تلك الواقعة بالقرب من أسوان. في هذه المواقع، كان هناك حاجة إلى الحد الأدنى من الإقامة، لأنها كانت قريبة جدا من المدن الدائمة. المواقع التي تقع في مناطق نائية لديها مستوطنات أكثر تطورا، بما في ذلك بعض مثل سيرابيت الخديم، التي ذهبت حتى بقدر وجود المعابد بنيت للعمال.

ومن أوائل مواقع المحجر التي تم دراستها بأية تفاصيل كانت المملكة القديمة حيث تم استخراج الجبس الناعم نسبيا في أم الصوان، بالقرب من الحافة الشمالية لمنطقة الفيوم. تم مسحها وحفرها في عام 1928 من قبل جيرترود كاتون طومسون ودوروثيا غاردنر. وهنا، كان العمال يقيمون في مستوطنة كبيرة مترامية الأطراف لا تقل عن 250 مبنى صغير مبني من الأحجار. تم العثور على أدلة كبيرة تشير إلى أن أدوات الصوان للمحاجر، فضلا عن بعض البنود الأخرى، تم إنتاجها محليا. كما يبدو أن بعض الجبس قد نحتت في بنود جنائزية صغيرة للمقابر الخاصة، ولكن ربما كانت كميات كبيرة من الأرض قد وضعت أيضا في مدافع الهاون لمشاريع البناء التي ترعاها الدولة على نطاق واسع في سقارة، والتي في حوالي 20 كيلومترا فقط إلى الشمال الشرقي. وبالمثل، تم استخراج المرمر المصري، وهو كالسيت، في حنوب ووادي الجراوي ليس فقط للسفن الصغيرة والتماثيل وطاولات العرض، ولكن أيضا للأغراض الملكية، مثل العناصر التماثيل الضخمة والعناصر المعمارية.

جورجس كاستل وجورج سوكياسيان، في مطلع الثمانينيات من القرن الماضي، درس موقع جبل الزيت غالينا، حيث تم استخراج خام الرصاص. وهي تقع على خليج السويس، على بعد حوالي 50 كيلومترا جنوب رأس غارب. وتعود هذه الألغام إلى المملكة الوسطى وإلى فترة الرمسيد، وتضم مئات المهاوي وحوالي ثلاثين معرضا للمناجم. وكان الموقع يحتوي على العديد من الملاجئ الحجرية الجافة، والهياكل الناخبة وحتى ملاذ صغير، والتي يرجع تاريخها بوضوح من الدولة الوسطى إلى الأسرة ال 19. لا توجد نقوش تذكارية أو نقوش على نطاق واسع في جبل الزيت، ولكن الحرم يحتوي على مخبأ للأشياء الناخبة، بما في ذلك الحجارة الصغيرة والقشور المحمولة، وبعضها يحمل تصوير الملوك الذين يقدمون عروض ل “حورس سيد ديسيريتس “. و “هاثور عشيقة غالينا”، التي يبدو أنها تشير إلى درجة على الأقل من المشاركة الرسمية في عملية غالينا. وقد تم تكريس إحدى هذه السلالات من قبل مينمهات، وهو حاكم الأسرة السابع عشر في مدينة كوبتوس، التي كانت تقليديا مركزا لاستغلال المحاجر والتعدين في الصحراء الشرقية. كان جبل الزيتون هو البؤرة الاستيطانية الشمالية للبعثات التي ترعاها ملوك الأسرة السابعة عشر، التي كانت قاعدتها في طيبة.

لا يزال هناك بعض الشك حول متى وأين اخترع الزجاج. التقليد الذي مرت به بليني يقع الحدث على الساحل الفينيقي، في مودم لبنان، حيث نمت فيما بعد واحدة من أهم مراكز صنع الزجاج. في مصر، الزجاج الأول الذي نعرفه، كعنصر من مكونات الخزف، يرجع تاريخه إلى ما قبل الثقافة البادرية المخلصة في مطلع القرن الخامس والرابع قبل الميلاد. يتم إنتاج الزجاج من خليط من السيليكا والرمل والجير والصودا، ملونة مع خام خام النحاس وتنصهر في درجة حرارة عالية.

في أقدم صنوف خزفية مصرية تم تطبيق جلدة من هذه المادة على نواة مصنوعة من السيليكا والرمال والطين، أو من حجر ستيتايت. وقد استخدم هذا في البداية فقط للخرز، ولكن في وقت لاحق للتمائم، شوابتيس (التماثيل الصغيرة من الحاضرين المتوفى)، وشخصيات أخرى ومعلقات (الأشكال المدرجة في جوانب السفن، والأشياء الخشبية، أو في الجص). وعلى وجه الخصوص في الممالك الوسطى والعصرية الجديدة، كان يطبق طلاء الصقيل في كثير من الأحيان على السفن والتماثيل الكاملة.

وجاء الزجاج النقي كمواد منفصلة في وقت لاحق، في أوقات ما قبل الأوان، في شكل حبات شفافة. في المجوهرات القديمة والمتوسطية المجوهرات الزجاجية، والتمائم، وشخصيات الحيوانات الصغيرة، وحجارة الفسيفساء وأشياء مماثلة جعل مظهرها.

ليس حتى عهد توتموسيس الأول في المملكة الجديدة، ومع ذلك، هناك أي سجل من الأوعية الزجاجية التي يجري إجراؤها. وربما كان الابتكار ناجما عن التوسع المصري في الشرق الأوسط. كان هناك جنود وإداريون مصريون قد عبروا مراكز متقدمة لتصنيع الزجاج وأعادوا الحرفيين المحليين، ربما كعبيد. ومما يعزز هذا الرأي حقيقة أن إنتاج السفن الزجاجية بدأ في مصر كاحتكار ملك يخدم المحكمة وكبار الشخصيات وكهنة الكهنة. كانت هذه الورش التي تم اكتشافها في القرن الثامن عشر قريبة جدا من القصور الملكية، مثل قصر أمينوفيس الثالث في حي ملكاتا أو أخناتن السكني في أخيتاتن. تم العثور على مزيد من المصانع 19 سلالة في ليشت، منشية وربما غروب.

 

وخلافا لما هو الحال في الحرف الأخرى، فإن صور إنتاج الزجاج مفقودة بشكل واضح من الرسومات والمنسوجات. (الرسوم التوضيحية المزعومة لصناعة الزجاج التي تم استنساخها من وقت لآخر هي في الواقع مسابك معدنية). وكان هذا بلا شك بسبب الاحتكار الملكي. وبما أن الأرستقراطية لا تملك أي ورش عمل زجاجية، فإن الموضوع لم يظهر في مقابرهم، وفي مقابر الملكية الجديدة في المملكة المتحدة كانت المشاهد غير الدينية نادرة جدا. وبالتالي فإن أساليب تصنيع الزجاج قد ظلت لغزا ولكن للبحوث الأثرية والأوعية الزجاجية نفسها نفسها.

أعطى مصنع الزجاج الموجود في ليشت شظايا من البوتقات، والطين المخروطية يقف لعقد البوتقات أثناء التفجير، وقطع من الخبث من الأفران، وعينات من أصباغ تضاف إلى الزجاج، وأقراص صغيرة مع حواف البالية جيدا المستخدمة لإنهاء الأسطح، على قضبان زجاجية جدا من مختلف الألوان، وقطع من أقمشة القشور التي لم تكتمل وما يقرب من 200 شورد من السفن الزجاجية. هناك آثار في الداخل لبعض السفن من الطين والرمل الأساسية، وكشف عن التكنولوجيا المستخدمة.

تمت عملية التصنيع على النحو التالي. تم تسخين الزجاج الخام في المقالي تصل إلى 750’C ثم مرة أخرى في البوتقات إلى تصل إلى 1000C. وقد تم صنع طبقة من الطين والرمال على شكل تجويف السفينة المقصودة، مغطاة بقطعة قماش وتمسك على قضيب معدني. وقد سقط هذا في الكتلة المنصهرة وعطى العديد من التقلبات السريعة لنشر الزجاج بالتساوي على ذلك. (وهذا لم يكن يعمل دائما، كما يمكننا أن نرى من سمك غير متكافئ لبعض السفن.)

إذا كانت هناك حاجة للزخرفة، فقد تم جرح واحد أو أكثر من قضبان ملونة رقيقة بشكل جانبي فوق الزجاج بينما كان لا يزال ناعما. قبل أن تصلب هذه القضبان تم نقلها صعودا وهبوطا مع دبابيس معدنية لإنتاج موجات، أكاليل، أقواس وأوراق أو أنماط ريشة. في بعض الأحيان تم رسم مشط عبر قضبان، وإنتاج سلسلة من الأضلاع العمودية. ثم تم إعادة تسخينها بالكامل ثم تم تدويرها على كتلة حجرية ناعمة لإنتاج سطح حتى. وأخيرا، الحافة والقدم يمكن سحبها ومقابض تنصهر على. وبمجرد أن الكائن كان باردا، وكان جوهر أن كشط بها.

كان الزجاج المصري القديم ملون عادة بأصباغ تضاف إلى الزجاج الخام. تم إنتاج لون أبيض حليبي مع القصدير أو أكسيد الرصاص والأصفر مع الأنتيمون والرصاص أو المركبات الحديدية أو الأحمر أو البرتقالي مع أكاسيد النحاس والبنفسجي مع أملاح المنغنيز والأزرق الأخضر (في التقليد الفيروز الثمينة) مع النحاس أو الحديد والمركبات، والأزرق الداكن (في التقليد من اللازوردية) مع الكوبالت كوم جنيه والأسود مع نسبة أكبر من النحاس والمنغنيز، أو مع المركبات الحديديك. كانت القطع الأثرية النهائية – الزجاجات الصغيرة، والمزهريات، والكؤوس، والأوعية – موجهة أساسا إلى مستحضرات التجميل والعطور الغريبة في خنازير الملكات والسيدات عالية الولادة.

 

وقد أدى تراجع القوة الملكية بعد نهاية المملكة الجديدة إلى وقف إنتاج الزجاج لبعض الوقت. ولم يحدث حتى العصرين اليوناني والروماني ظهور مراكز زجاجية مصرية جديدة في مدينتي الإسكندرية وناوكراتيس الهلينستية. تتمتع هذه الروابط وثيقة مع مراكز في آسيا الصغرى ومنتجاتها على الطراز اليوناني موجودة تظهر أنها اتبعت السوق الدولية من يومهم. حوالي بداية العصر المسيحي زجاجات مصبوب تظهر تظهر، وكان آخر الابتكار الزجاج ميلفيوري مصنوعة من قضبان زجاج ملونة مختلفة تنصهر معا.

وقد حدث اختراع ثوري لتفجير الزجاج، ربما في سوريا، خلال القرن الأول قبل الميلاد، على الرغم من أن التقنية لم تصل إلى الإسكندرية حتى النصف الأخير من القرن التالي. وكقاعدة عامة كان يستخدم الزجاج واضحة، إما من هوى الأخضر الطبيعي أو مع إضافات لجعله عديم اللون. قطعت مع عجلة النحاس والأرض مع مسحوق الصنفرة. واكتشف الاكتشاف الجديد زيادة الإنتاج عدة أضعاف والزجاج ثم توقف عن أن تكون إما نادرة أو حق الطبقة العليا.

ما كان الوضع الاجتماعي لصانعي الزجاج ربما كنا نستطيع التكهن فقط. كانت الحرفية الفنية العالية والأفراد الموهوبين فرصة للحصول على سادة معترف بها. على الرغم من أن العاملين في مصنع الزجاج يبدو أنهم في العادة من العبيد، وبالنسبة للغالبية العظمى من الأجانب، ربما تم تحرير العمال الماهرة في مرحلة مبكرة، ونقل أسرارهم للزملاء المصريين بين الحرفيين الملكيين.

كان العمل بلا شك مضنية ومدمرة لصحة ممارسيها. الحرارة الشديدة التي تنتجها الصمامات الزجاجية على الحرائق المفتوحة يمكن أن تؤذي إدارة السوائل في الجسم. عانت القرنية وشبكية العين من الوهج، ولم تكن حروق الجلد نادرة. وقد أدى نفخ الزجاج إلى الضغط الخلفي على الرئتين مما قد يؤدي إلى انتفاخ الرئة ومشاكل الدورة الدموية في سن مبكرة، مما يقلل من عمر العامل إلى حد كبير.

 

Subscribe Our Newsletter!

SILICA SAND FROM EGYPT

Cairo minerals IS A REGISTERED COMPANY WITH MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY SINCE 2004 Cairo minerals is a leading and Global Producer and Exporter of High Graded Silica Sand since 2004. Our Product of Silica Sand is Exported to Cyprus, Greece, Spain, India, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Malta, Turkey, Qatar, Senegal, Algeria, Libya Japan, Syria, Lebanon, Georgia, Croatia, Philippines, and Iraq, Sultanate Of Oman.


QUARRIES

QUARRIES

To appreciate quarry and mining operations in Egypt, one must understand that without them, there would be no great Pyramids and there would be no grand temples. In fact, there would also be little in the way of glorious jewelry, exquisite statuary, or gilded furniture from ancient Egypt. To a very large extent, what we know of ancient Egypt was built from quarry and mining operations. Today, tourists would not be visiting Egypt were it not for the hard, backbreaking work of the quarrymen so many thousands of years ago..

 

The ancient Egyptians, as far back as prehistory, had a big appetite for various materials, and particularly limestone, which was used in huge quantities. However, they also certainly quarried red, gray and black granite from Aswan, alabaster, diorite, marble, serpentine, purple porphyry, black slate from Wadi Rahanu, basalt and dolomite. They also mined for metals, such as copper and gold, though silver was usually imported, and iron deposits were not exploited probably until the Late Period. There was also mining for precious stones, such as emeralds, malachite (sehmet, turquoise (mafaket), carnelian, amethyst and other gemstones. Mining for minerals included salt (sodium chloride), Natron, a variant of normal cooking salt, alum, a mineral used for dying cloth and Galena, a lead sulphide used in cosmetics. Finally, one of the most overlooked quarrying was simply Nile Mud, used for pottery making and for making bricks that were used in most common building applications.

 

Stone form the Nile Valley was quarried by those living in Egypt at least as early as 40,000 years ago, when the Middle Palaeolithic inhabitants of Middle Egypt were quarrying and working cobbles of chert along the limestone terraces on either side of the Nile. These earliest of Palaeolithic chert quarries consisted of pits and trenches for surface extraction, but there are Upper Palaeolithic quarries at nazlet khater 4, on the western bank of the Nile about midway between Asyut and Sohag, that include vertical shafts and subterranean galleries, which in fact foreshadow quarrying methods during the pharaonic period. When the Nazlet Khater 4 site was excavated there, a number of tools were unearthed. These included hammerstones used for the roughest stages of quarrying as well as several picks used for finer work. The picks were carved from the horns of gazelles and hartebeest.

 

The prehistoric Egyptians also exploited the minerals in the cliffs and deserts on either side of the Nile Valley, and in the Sinai. In fact, Archaeologists believe that the very earliest known settlers in the Sinai, arriving about 8,000 years ago, were miners, drawn by the regions copper and turquoise depoists. Some of the earliest known items of jewelry, dated to the prehistoric period, are made from Eastern Desert carnelian and sard. Copper slag is also known from the vicinity of the predynastic mines at Bir Nasib in the southern Sinai, and turquoise miners probably exploited the nearby region of Serabit el-Khadim in the Chalcolithic period.

 

Of course, these prehistoric operations were relatively small in comparison with the massive royal expeditions that were sent out to the Sinai and to Nubia during the first two dynasties, and downright tiny compared to later expeditions that might include almost twenty thousand men. Some of the notable stone quarries during the Pharaonic Period include Gebel es-Silsila for sandstone, Tura and Ma’sara for fine white limestone, Qua el-Kebir for very hard limestone, Gebel el-Asr for Diorite, Hatnub and Wadi el-Garawi (near Helwan) for Egyptian alabaster (calcite), Gebel Qatrani for basalt, various types of granite from Wadi Hammamat, and several quarries around Aswan for pink granite. In fact, there were very extensive quarry operations in and around Aswan, which became even more notable in later times. During the Roman period, the quarries there continued unabated, and columns carved from Aswan granite are found in quantity around the shores of the Mediterranean. It is, in fact, on of the “big three” decorative rocks of the Roman world, on a par with granito violetto from the Troad and Cipoillino from Greece.

 

Various metals were mined in Egypt, perhaps most notably gold, copper and later, iron. There were many gold mines around Egypt and in Nubia. Notable, perhaps, is Wadi Hammamat and Bir Umm Fawakhir (actually in Wadi Hammamat, which was still in use at the end of the 20th century), along with Wadi Sid, Wadi Abbed, Wadi el-Hudi, Wadi Allaqi, Buhen Semma, the al-Ela1qi Valley and about 20 kilometers west of Mons Caludianu, Abu Zawal. Copper mines include those at Timna and Serabit el-Khadim in the Sinai, and in the Eastern Desert, Wadi Araba, Wadi Sitra, the Hamash area and at Buhen and Wadi Dara. There were iron mines at Wadi Dib, Wadi Hammamat and at sites near Aswan.

 

Of course, the Egyptians also mined different gemstones, such as amethyst at Wadi el-Hudi and Gebel el-Asr, and turquoise at Wadi Mughara and Serabit el-Khadim. Egypt is where the worlds first emerald mine is located, in the mountain valley of Wadi Sikait in the Eastern Desert. It was mined as early as the Ptolemaic period. The Romans later referred to emeralds as Smaragdus, and named the Sikait region Mons Smaragdus, or Emerald Mountain. Another site was Wadi Gamal, near Marsa Alam, which latter earned the name Cleopatra’s Emerald Mine.

 

Other mining and or quarry operations included, for Quartz, Gebel el-Asr, Gebel Dukhan and Gebel Fatira (the latter two of which became Mons Porphyrites and Mons Claudianus in latter times, Gebel el-Asr for gneiss, alum from the Dakhla and Kharga Oasis in the Western desert, slate from Wadi Hammamat and black slate from Wadi Rahanu. Minerals such as Natron were obviously mined as Wadi Natrun, while galena used in make up was mined at Gebel el-Zeit and Geble Rasas and porphyry was mined at Gebel Dukhan and Gebel Fatira (Mons Porphyrites and Mons Claudianus), as well as other nearby mines.

 

This is truly only a partial list of quarrying and mining sites in Egypt, and even of materials that were extracted. For example, the Egyptians mined a number of other semi-precious stones such as Lapis and Carnelian and Egyptian jasper.

 

The Archaeology of Quarries and Mines

 

Some of the inscriptions and graffiti associated with these mining and processing sites provide information on the dates of the expeditions, lists of various types of workmen and in rare instances, even detailed narrative accounts of specific expeditions. Considerable archaeological and textual information has survived concerning mining expeditions in pursuit of building stone, copper, gold, turquoise, malachite and a variety of other gemstones.

 

Obviously, during the Pharaonic Period, quarrying and mining was of prime importance to the prosperity and stability of Egypt’s economy, though they attracted little attention prior to the 1980s from archaeologists. Since then, a number of archaeologists have begun to study them, with approaches ranging from the scientific provencing of stones and metals to the experimental replication of technology employed in extracting and working with the various materials.

 

The granite quarries at Aswan, which were first exploited at least as early as the beginning of Pharaonic times, are still in use today. Therefore a great deal of evidence concerning the ancient extraction and working of this extremely hard stone derives from extensive archaeological remains to the southeast of the modern city. It is estimated, based on surviving buildings and other monuments, that during the Old Kingdom some 45,000 cubic meters of stone were removed from these quarries. Most of that would have largely comprised the prying up of loose boulders scattered across its surface, but by the New Kingdom, the largest quantities of granite were being quarried.

 

The monument known as the Unfinished Obelisk is a useful piece of evidence for the quarrying and working techniques of the New Kingdom, when large numbers of obelisks were carved for the temples at Thebes and elsewhere. It dates to the 18th Dynasty, and measures nearly 42 meters in length. It derives its name from the fact that is was abandoned, no doubt reluctantly, at an advanced stage in the process of extraction, due to faults in the stone.

 

Work on this monument indicates that the laborers first removed the weathered upper layers of the granite, and then excavated a trench, marking out the shape of the obelisk, which was still attached to the bedrock. The .75 meter wide trench was divided into a number of .6 meter wide working areas, marked out by vertical red lines down the side of the trench, which might well have contained as many as fifty workmen around the obelisk at any one time. Here, the marks made by the quarry overseers still exist on the trench faces, indicating that the depth of each trench was periodically measured by lowering a cubit rod into it and marking the top of the rod with a triangle. Once the trench had reached the necessary depth, the workers would gradually undercut the block, a process which was just beginning in the case of the Unfinished Obelisk. Finally to move the quarried obelisk, it would have had to be pushed out horizontally, a considerably easier task than attempting to pull it vertically, upward out of the hole.

 

Various quarrying and mining sites dating to different periods and in differing geographical locations evidences the ancient Egyptians’ skills of adaptation in different contests and circumstances. There was considerable flexibility in their procurement of stone and metals. Some ancient workers’ settlements were substantial towns or villages, such as those near Aswan. At these sites, only minimal accommodation was required, since they were so near permanent towns. Sites situated in more remote locations have settlements that were much more developed, including some such as Serabit el-Khadim, that even went as far as having temples built for the workers.

 

One of the first quarry sites to be studied in any detail was an Old Kingdom one where relatively soft gypsum was mined at Umm el-Sawwan, near the northern edge of the Fayoum region. It was surveyed and excavated in 1928 by Gertrude Caton-Thompson and Dorothea Gardner. Here, the workers had been housed in a large, sprawling settlement of at least 250 small stone-built structures. Considerable evidence was found indicating that the flint tools for quarrying, as well as some other items, were produced locally. Also, some of the gypsum appears to have been carved into small funerary items for private tombs, but large amounts were probably also ground into mortar for large-scale state sponsored building projects at Saqqara, which in only about 20 kilometers to the northeast. In the same way, Egyptian alabaster, a calcite, was quarried at Hatnub and Wadi Gerrawi not only for small vessels, statuettes and offering tables, but also for royal purposes, such as colossal statuary and architectural elements.

 

Georges Castel and Georges Soukiassian, during the early 1980s, studied the site of Gebel el-Zeit galena, where lead ore was mined. It is located on the Gulf of Suez, about 50 kilometers to the south of Ras Gharib. These mines date to the Middle Kingdom and to the Ramessid Period, and incorporate hundreds of shafts and about thirty gallery mines. The site contained numerous dry-stone shelters, votive structures and even a small sanctuary, evidently dating from the Middle Kingdom to the 19th Dynasty. There are no large-scale commemorative inscriptions or carvings at Gebel el-Zeit, but the sanctuary contained a cache of votive objects, including small stone and faience portable stelae, some of which bear depictions of kings making offerings to “Horus Master of the Deserets”. and “Hathor Mistress of Galena”, which seems to indicate at least a degree of official involvement in the galena operation. One stela was dedicated by Minemhat, a 17th Dynasty governor of the Coptos nome, traditionally the center for quarrying and mining in the Eastern Desert. Gebel el-Zeit would have been the northernmost outpost for expeditions sponsored by 17th Dynasty kings, whose power base was at Thebes.

 

There is still some doubt as to when and where glass was invented. The tradition passed on by Pliny locates the event on the Phoenician coast, in modem Lebanon, where there later grew one of the most important glass-making centres. In Egypt, the first glass we know of, as a component of faience ware, dates from as far back as the eneolithic Badarian culture at the turn of the 5th and 4th millennia BC. Glass is produced from a mixture of silica-sand, lime and soda, coloured with the copper ore malachite and fused at a high temperature.

 

In the oldest Egyptian faience ware a skin of this substance was applied to a core made of silica-sand and clay, or of the stone steatite. This was used at first only for beads, but later on for amulets, shawabtis (the little figurines of the attendants of the deceased), other figures and inlays (shapes inserted into the sides of vessels, wooden objects, or into plaster). Particularly in the Middle and New Kingdoms a faience glaze was often applied to complete vessels and statuettes.

 

Pure glass as a separate material came later, in predynastic times, in the form of translucent beads. In the Old and Middle Kingdoms glass jewellery, amulets, little animal figures, mosaic stones and similar things made their appearance.

 

Not till the reign of Tuthmosis I in the New Kingdom, however, is there any record of glass vessels being made. The innovation was probably due to Egyptian expansion in the Middle East. There Egyptian soldiers and administrators would have come across advanced centres of glass manufacture and brought back local craftsmen, probably as slaves. This view is reinforced by the fact that production of glass vessels started in Egypt as a royal monopoly serving the court, top dignitaries and the high priesthood. Such 18th-dynasty workshops as have been discovered were very close to royal palaces, such as that of Amenophis III at Malqata or Akhenaten’s residential quarter in Akhetaten. Further 19th-dynasty factories have been found at Lisht, Menshiya and possibly Gurob.

 

Unlike those of other crafts, portrayals of glass production are conspicuously missing from drawings and reliefs. (Alleged illustrations of glass-making that have been reproduced from time to time are in fact metal foundries.) This was no doubt because of the royal monopoly. Since the aristocracy owned no glass workshops, the subject did not feature in their tombs, and in New Kingdom royal tombs non-religious scenes were very rare. The methods of glass manufacture would thus have remained a mystery but for archaeological research and the extant glass vessels themselves.

 

The glass factory found at Lisht yielded fragments of crucibles, conical clay stands for holding the crucibles during fusing, pieces of slag from the ovens, samples of the pigments added to the glass, little discs with well-worn edges used for finishing the surfaces, over too glass rods of various colours, pieces of unfinished faience ware and nearly 200 sherds of glass vessels. There are traces on the inside of some vessels of a clay-and-sand core, revealing the technology used.

 

Manufacture proceeded as follows. The raw glass was heated in pans up to 750’C and then again in crucibles to as high as 1000C. A clay-and-sand core was made in the shape of the cavity of the intended vessel, covered with cloth and stuck onto a metal rod. This was plunged into the molten mass and given several quick twists to spread the glass evenly over it. (This did not always work out, as we can see from the uneven thickness of some vessels.)

 

If decoration was required, one or more thin coloured rods were wound spirally over the glass while it was still soft. Before these rods hardened they were moved up and down with metal pins to produce waves, garlands, arches and leaf or feather patterns. Sometimes a comb was drawn across the rods, producing a series of vertical ribs. The whole job was then reheated and rolled over a smooth stone block to produce an even surface. Finally, edge and foot could be pulled out and handles fused on. Once the object was cold, the core had to be scraped out.

 

Ancient Egyptian glass was usually tinted with pigments added to the raw glass. A milky-white colour was produced with tin or lead oxide, yellow with antimony and lead, or ferrous compounds, red or orange with oxides of copper, violet with manganese salts, greenish blue (in imitation of the prized turquoise) with copper or iron compounds, dark blue (in imitation of lapis lazuli) with cobalt com-pounds and black with a larger proportion of copper and manganese, or with ferric compounds. The finished artefacts – little bottles, vases, goblets and bowls – were chiefly destined to hold cosmetics and fragrant unguents in the boudoirs of queens and high-born ladies.

 

The decline of royal power after the end of the New Kingdom put a stop to glass production for a time. Not till the Graeco-Roman Period did new Egyptian glass centres arise in the Hellenistic cities of Alexandria and Naucratis. These enjoyed close links with centres in Asia Minor and their extant Greek-style products show that they followed the international market of their day. Around the beginning of the Christian era moulded glass bowls appear, and another innovation was millefiori glass made from variously coloured glass rods fused together.

 

The revolutionary invention of glass-blowing took place, probably in Syria, during the 1st century BC, though the technique did not reach Alexandria until the latter half of the following century. As a rule clear glass was used, either of the natural greenish hue or with additives to make it colourless. It was cut with a copper wheel and ground with emery powder. The new discovery increased production many-fold and glass then ceased to be either a rarity or an upper-class prerogative.

 

What the social status of glass-makers may have been we can only speculate. It was a highly artistic craft and gifted individuals had a chance to become acknowledged masters. Though the glass-factory employees appear originally to have been slaves, and for the most part foreigners, skilful workers were probably freed at an early stage and imparted their secrets to Egyptian colleagues among the royal artisans.

The work was doubtless strenuous and damaging to the health of its practitioners. The intense heat produced by fusing glass on open fires could injure the body-fluid management; the cornea and retina of the eye suffered from the glare, and skin burns were no rarity. Glass-blowing exerted a back-pressure on the lungs that could lead to emphysema and circulatory trouble at an early age, shortening a worker’s life considerably.

Subscribe Our Newsletter!